ICAEW.com works better with JavaScript enabled.

ICAEW and the Business Finance Council

Author: ICAEW Corporate Finance Faculty

Published: 15 Mar 2022

Corporate Finance
The UK government’s Business Finance Council works with lenders to ensure that small and medium-sized companies (SMEs) can access the finance they need to grow and thrive.

The Council is jointly chaired by Rt Hon Kwasi Kwarteng MP, Secretary of State for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy, and John Glen MP, Economic Secretary to the Treasury.

Its members include the UK’s major banks and financial services companies that lend to SMEs, as well as the British Business Bank, British Chambers of Commerce, Federation of Small Businesses, UK Finance and ICAEW.

David Petrie, Head of Corporate Finance, is ICAEW’s representative on the Business Finance Council, supported by his colleagues in the Corporate Finance Faculty.

The Council has drawn up an SME Finance Charter with pledges from UK banks and finance providers to support their SME customers.

Related links


David Petrie, Head of Corporate Finance, ICAEW

Graham Dale, Head of Public Affairs, ICAEW